[hand] [face]
The Original Deep Purple Web Pages
The Highway Star

Sunflower Jam DVD

Sunflower Superjam 2011/2012 DVD cover

The Sunflower Jam is releasing a double DVD with highlights of the 2011 and 2012 events. The DVD will be released on September 16 with preorders open starting August 20.

Track list

Disc 1 — The Sunflower Superjam 2012
  1. Ain’t No Telling – The Temperance Movement
  2. Behind Blue Eyes – Bruce Dickinson
  3. Black Night – Bruce Dickinson
  4. Elected – Alice Cooper
  5. Emerald – Bruce Dickinson
  6. I Want To Know What Love Is – Alfie Boe
  7. Lessons In Love – Mark King
  8. Pictured Within – Steve Balsamo
  9. Rock n’ Roll – Alfie Boe
  10. Sails of Charon – Uli Jon Roth
  11. School’s Out – Alice Cooper
  12. Since You’ve Been Gone – Brian May & Kerry Ellis
  13. Smoke On The Water – Ensemble
  14. Something About You – Mark King
  15. This Wheel’s On Fire – Sandi Thom
Disc 2 — The Sunflower Superjam 2011
  1. Bohemian Rhapsody – Newton Faulkner
  2. Born To Run – Danny Bowes
  3. Bourée – Jon Lord
  4. Eleanor Rigby – Rick Wakeman
  5. Good Golly Miss Molly – Gary Brooker
  6. I Just Want To Make Love To You – Margo Buchanan
  7. It’s Not As Big As It Was – Jon Lord & Rick Wakeman
  8. Life on Mars – Newton Faulkner
  9. Midnight Blues – Joe Bonamassa
  10. Pictured Within – Steve Balsamo
  11. Smoke on the Water – Deep Purple feat. Bill Bailey
  12. The Ballad of John Henry – Joe Bonamassa
  13. The Thrill Is Gone – Joe Bonamassa
  14. Whiter Shade of Pale – Gary Brooker
  15. Freedom Jazz Dance – Brian Auger
  16. Born Free – Brian May & Kerry Ellis *
  17. I Loved A Butterfly – Brian May & Kerry Ellis *
  18. Substitute – Margo Buchanan *
  19. Help Me – Sandi Thom *
  20. November Rain – Sandi Thom *
  21. Only Friend – The Temperance Movement *

* — bonus tracks from the 2012 Superjam

Preorder PAL or NTSC versions.

16 Comments to “Sunflower Jam DVD”:

  1. 1
    Larry Toering says:

    Did Purple not make the cover?

  2. 2
    Scoot says:

    I want to see this just to have a clean version of teh Jon Lord and Rick Wakeman collaboration…

  3. 3
    LRT says:

    Not interested. All apologies tho’.

  4. 4
    Dpfender says:

    Right, Scoot. The Lord & Wakeman track looks to be worth the price alone. Brilliant, with Jon and his hand signals…and the playing! Makes me miss him even more.

  5. 5
    @xel says:

    @ Scoot (#2):
    Good point. This very collaboration was an outstanding moment in music history! I was blessed to eyewitness this and I felt like on a different planet.
    But the rest of the show is worth buying the DVD, too. Although it could hold a bit more of Jon’s performance, IMHO. Especially since this was his last bigger show…

  6. 6
    LRT says:

    Details concerning the time stamp on the bonus highlights might tell a little more about what’s there. But I’d fall asleep trying to watch most the rest of what’s on offer to get to it.

  7. 7
    nupsi59 says:

    I like to mention the contribution of Jon Lord with “The Hoochie Coochie Men”:

    DVD “Live at the Basement” with Bob Daisley. Jimmy Barnes had some lyric problems with “When a blind Man cries”, I think it was the beer…

    …also very funny comments from Mr. Lord between the songs…

    CD “Danger.White Man Dancing” with Big Ian on vocals on one track.

  8. 8
    Roberto says:

    Sunflower Jam 2012 edition and you don’t put Jon Lord on the cover !?…it’s yet enough for not buying it…

  9. 9
    Tracy (Zero the Hero) Heyder says:

    Come on LRT… don’t be such an elitist… This is quite an impressive release and deserves some attention. There are quite a few interesting performances listed along with the fact that it is comprised of Jon Lord’s last live performance. Not interested? Apology not accepted. I only hope they record this year’s show featuring the Jon Lord Tribute for a DVD release as well.


  10. 10
    mcanic says:

    Dvd… no bluray…?
    Anyway, thrilled to see this release!

  11. 11
    ps says:

    Now a trailer

  12. 12
    LRT says:

    Trailer looks good, perhaps Mark King will get my buy. But who’s he, Tracy?! 😀

  13. 13
    purplepriest1965 says:

    VIMEO thing link of Sunflower Jam DVD does not work here.

  14. 14
    @xel says:

    Received it today.
    Neither Audio CD nor DVD is running. Anybody else the same experience? Or is my very copy just a monday’s production?

  15. 15
    Anders says:

    Got my copy today. No problem playing it , so @xel, you probably have a mondays copy.

    Watched the 2012 DVD today, part of it is really good eg Steve Balsamo doing Pictured Within and an emotional speech to Jons memory. But there are some rather embarrasing parts…..Bruce Dickinson and Uli Jon Roth are both crap. Black Night with Dickinsson, Brian May, John Paul Jones and Paicey is another low point, with Paicey the only one trying to play it properly the others are just goofing around.

    All in all a good document on the night, but with some low points.

  16. 16
    Svante Axbacke says:

    Axel: There were problems with the first pressing. My copy had the discs glued to the cover so I couldn’t get them out of the package! Just mail them and they will send you new discs.

    BTW, is there a cd in the set as well?

Add a comment:

Preview no longer available -- once you press Post, that's it. All comments are subject to moderation policy.

||||Unauthorized copying, while sometimes necessary, is never as good as the real thing
© 1993-2024 The Highway Star and contributors
Posts, Calendar and Comments RSS feeds for The Highway Star