[hand] [face]
The Original Deep Purple Web Pages
The Highway Star

Third degree release details

Flying Colors Third Degree cover art

The third studio album of Flying Colors — aptly named Third degree — will be released on October 4, 2019, via Music Theory Recordings / Mascot Label Group.

The first sessions for Third Degree took place at Steve Morse’s studio in Florida in December 2016, wherein seven songs were written. From there, the bandmembers had to scatter back to their other personal and professional obligations, eventually reconvening two full years later in December 2018, when three more tracks were added to the overall Third Degree mix. (The tenth track, “Waiting for the Sun,” will be made available in forthcoming special editions.)

At this point, Portnoy deployed to Neal Morse’s Nashville studio to cut his drum tracks, while Neal and Casey often got together on Skype, as they’ve done in the past, to hone the lyrics.

The album will be available in following formats:

  • CD Digipack;
  • limited edition 2LP 180 gram blue vinyl in a gatefold sleeve (with download card);
  • 2LP 180 gram black vinyl in a gatefold sleeve (w/ download card);
  • limited edition box set featuring CD, 40 page photobook, two coasters, and a bonus disc with six tracks.

Track listing:

  1. The Loss Inside
  2. More
  3. Cadence
  4. Guardian
  5. Last Train Home
  6. Geronimo
  7. You Are Not Alone
  8. Love Letter
  9. Crawl

Box set bonus disc:

  1. Waiting For The Sun (unreleased bonus studio track)
  2. Geronimo (alternate instrumental arrangement & mix)
  3. You Are Not Alone (alternate instrumental arrangement & mix)
  4. Love Letter (alternate instrumental arrangement & mix)
  5. Last Train Home (alternate instrumental arrangement & mix)
  6. Crawl (alternate instrumental arrangement & mix)

Music video for the track More:

Flying Colors are:

Steve Morse — guitar
Mike Portnoy — drums and vocals
Neal Morse — keyboards and vocals
Dave LaRue — bass
Casey McPherson — lead vocals

Thanks to BraveWords for the info.

6 Comments to “Third degree release details”:

  1. 1
    nupsi 59 says:

    wow, more heavy prog-tunes, love it!

    Have a nice Day!

  2. 2
    Buttockss says:

    All Star Band….Cheers!

  3. 3
    Rob says:

    They could call the next album ‘Back and Fourth’ … except Lindisfarne got there first! Like the song but not sure Stevie is impressed with his face paint.

  4. 4
    errolarias says:

    I enjoyed iy. Liked a lot.. I did not think it will , but it did. Fresh Sound. Fortunately totally different to sound of DP

  5. 5
    AndreA says:


  6. 6
    Buttockss says:

    Happy Birthday Ian……..🎂🎈..😁👍.

Add a comment:

Preview no longer available -- once you press Post, that's it. All comments are subject to moderation policy.

||||Unauthorized copying, while sometimes necessary, is never as good as the real thing
© 1993-2024 The Highway Star and contributors
Posts, Calendar and Comments RSS feeds for The Highway Star