[hand] [face]
The Original Deep Purple Web Pages
The Highway Star

Tommy Bolin’s Zephyr remixed

Zephyr cover art; image courtesy of Cleopatra Records

Tommy Bolin’s early band Zephyr debut album was released as a deluxe 3CD box set on May 27 this year on Cleopatra Records. The album was remixed by the founding member and bassist of the band David Givens. The boxset sold so well (the label itself apparently has only 3 copies left in stock), that it will be followed up on August 5 by a 1CD “light” edition, which will include remix of the complete album, plus live and studio jam bonus tracks from the second and third discs of the box set.

A 180-gram coloured vinyl pressing will follow later this year. This will contain just the remix of the original album (tracks 1-9 below).

Track list of the “light” edition

  1. Sail On
  2. Sun’s A Risin’
  3. Raindrops
  4. Boom-Ba-Boom
  5. Somebody Listen
  6. Cross The River
  7. St. James Infirmary
  8. Huna Buna
  9. Hard Chargin’ Woman
  10. Guitar Solo / Cross The River — Reed’s Ranch, Colorado Springs, 1969
  11. Jam — San Bernardino, 1971
  12. Uptown (To Harlem) — Boulder, 1971
  13. Sail On — Tulagi’s, Boulder, 1973

Tracks 1-9 are from the original album, remixed and remastered; tracks 10-13 are bonuses.

Track list of the 3CD box set

Disc 1: The 1969 Debut Album
  1. Sail On
  2. Sun’s A Risin’
  3. Raindrops
  4. Boom-Ba-Boom
  5. Somebody Listen
  6. Cross The River
  7. St. James Infirmary
  8. Huna Buna
  9. Hard Chargin’ Woman
Disc 2: The Live Cuts 1969-1973
  1. Sail On
  2. Hard Chargin Woman
  3. Uptown (To Harlem)
  4. Jam Cats
  5. Repent Walpurgis (A Tribute To Brian Jones)
  6. Guitar Solo / Cross The River
  7. Rock Me Baby
  8. Cross The River (Instrumental Section)
  9. Jam
  10. I Can t Find A Way (To Say I Love You)
Disc 3: Live at Tulagi’s (Boulder, CO – June 19, 1973)
  1. Repent Walpurgis
  2. Cross The River
  3. Boom-Ba-Boom / Somebody Listen
  4. Sun s A Risin
  5. Huna Buna
  6. Sail On


You can still grab a copy of the 3CD box set from the label (while they last) or from other retailers. For the 1CD version, you’ll have to wait until August 5.

Thanks to Classic Rock for the heads up.

4 Comments to “Tommy Bolin’s Zephyr remixed”:

  1. 1
    Stuntman Mike says:

    Great! I own the original vinyl…

  2. 2
    Peter Ekdahl says:

    Man i’ve got that on vinyl! Thé original lp and also going back to Colorado 🙂

  3. 3
    Scott W says:

    I had to order the 3 disc set from a seller on Amazon as Cleopatra is sold out. I like the Zephyr stuff and felt i had to get this even though Candy could over do it much like Hughes in MkIII/IV (Georgia on my Mind for example).

  4. 4
    Nigel Young says:

    Tommy Bolin is to be inducted into the South Dakota Rock and Roll Music Association Hall of Fame next year. Induction events will be held April 21-22, 2017, at the Ramkota Exhibit Hall in Sioux Falls.

Add a comment:

Preview no longer available -- once you press Post, that's it. All comments are subject to moderation policy.

||||Unauthorized copying, while sometimes necessary, is never as good as the real thing
© 1993-2024 The Highway Star and contributors
Posts, Calendar and Comments RSS feeds for The Highway Star