[% META title = 'The Deep Purple Discography' lineup = 'mk1' releasetitle = 'Just Might Take Your Life' releasetype = 'album, regular, live' %]
Just Might Take Your Life

UK 2003 Purple Records (Sonic Zoom) PUR 208 [1CD]
Japan March 2003 Vap VPCK-85318 [1CD; title: California Jam 1974]

UK issue

Japanese issue

Performed live in California by:

  • Ritchie Blackmore guitar
  • David Coverdale vocals
  • Jon Lord keyboards
  • Ian Paice drums
  • Glenn Hughes bass & vocals

Recorded live at the California Jam Festival, Ontario Motor Speedway, USA, 6 April 1974.

Note the show has been previously released as California Jamming and on video.

The current release has been restored from the newly discovered master audio reel and includes for the first time the performance of "Lay Down Stay Down".

Read more details about the Sonic Zoom series in our special feature.


  1. Burn 6.20
  2. Might Just Take Your Life 4.49
  3. Lay Down Stay Down 4.45
  4. Mistreated 10.24
  5. Smoke On The Water 8.55
  6. You Fool No One 19.08
  7. Space Truckin' 25.10