[% META title = 'The Deep Purple Discography' lineup = 'mk3' releasetitle = 'California Jamming, Live At The California Jam' releasetype = 'album, regular, live' %]
California Jamming

UK June 1996 EMI Premier 7243-8-38334-2-9 [1CD]
UK June 1996 EMI Premier 0723-8-38334-43 [1MC]
Italy July 1996 EMI Italy 084-838334-2 [1CD]

Live at the California Jam

US 1996 BMG/Mausoleum Classix/King Biscuit Ent. 71278-60025-2 [1CD]
Japan October 1996 Teichiku TECW-25318 [1CD]

California Jamming

Live at the California Jam

Performed live in California 1974 by:

  • Ritchie Blackmore guitar
  • David Coverdale vocals
  • Glenn Hughes bass [and vocals]
  • Jon Lord keyboards
  • Ian Paice drums

Recorded live by ABC-TV on 6th April 1974 at the Ontario Speedway near Los Angeles, California.

Album coordinated by Tim Chacksfield and Simon Robinson.

Note that the CD has been issued with two different titles; one for the Us market, one for the the rest of us. The sleeve notes on the European release are written by Simon Robinson, while the US release has sleeve notes written by Bruce Pilato.

The event was originally aired live by ABC-TV and later released on video.


  1. Burn (Blackmore/Lord/Paice/Coverdale) 6.20
  2. Might just take your life (Blackmore/Lord/Paice/Coverdale) 4.41
  3. Mistreated (Blackmore/Coverdale) 10.14
  4. Smoke on the water (Blackmore/Gillan/Glover/Lord/Paice) 8.26
  5. You fool no one (Blackmore/Lord/Paice/Coverdale)/The mule (Blackmore/Gillan/Glover/Lord/Paice) 18.42
  6. Space truckin' (Blackmore/Gillan/Glover/Lord/Paice) 25.13